

environmental affairs

Department: Environmental Affairs REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X447, Pretoria, 0001, Environment House, 473 Steve Biko Road, Pretoria, 0002 Tel: +27 12 399 9000, Fax: + 27 86 625 1042

Enquiries: Ms Tiisetso Mashishi Tel: +2712 399 9237 Fax: +2712 359 3611 Email: <u>Tmashishi@environment.gov.za</u>

Ms Rosanna Silva Repetto Executive Secretary The Minamata Convention on Mercury United Nations Environment Programme International Environment House 1 11-13, Chemin des Anémones - 1219 Châtelaine **GENEVA** Switzerland

Email: mea-minamatasecretariat@un.org

Dear Ms Repetto

NOMINATION OF THE NATIONAL FOCAL POINTS OF THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA FOR THE MINAMATA CONVENTION ON MERCURY

This is to inform you about the nomination of the **South African** Technical and Administrative Focal Points for the Minamata Convention.

Technical Focal Point:

Name: Ms Noluzuko Gwayi Senior Policy Advisor: International Chemicals and Waste Physical Address: Environment House, 473 Steve Biko Road, Arcadia, Pretoria, 0083 Postal Address: Private Bag X447, Pretoria, 0001 Tel: +27 12 399 9854 Email: Ngwayi@environment.gov.za

Administrative Focal Point:

Name: Ms Judie Combrink Deputy Director: International Governance and Resource Mobilisation Organisations: Department of Environmental Affairs Physical Address: Environment House, 473 Steve Biko Road, Arcadia, Pretoria, 0083 Postal Address: Private Bag X447, Pretoria, 0001 Tel: +27 12 399 9238 Email: <u>GlobalEngagements@environment.gov.za</u> or <u>Jcombrink@environment.gov.za</u>

South African Permanent Mission (Geneva):

Name: H E Ms N J Mxakato-Diseko Ambassador United Nations: South African Permanent Mission 65 Rue du Rhone, 1204 Geneva, SWITZERLAND Tel: 004 122 8495454 Email: mission@safricaun.ch

All information and correspondence regarding the Minamata Convention should be addressed to the nominated officials. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any additional information.

Yours sincerely

gurlaubunk -

Ms Nosipho Ngcaba Director-General Department of Environmental Affairs Letter signed by: J M Combrink Designation: National Administrative Focal Point Date: 12 November 2019